Tashan

Tashan, for my non-Hindi speaking junta, means your own style. I’m at a point in my life where I’ve just came out of a very depressing phase, where I was abusing myself mentally and physically- and at this point what I need the most is empowerment. I need to start loving myself again, I need my self respect and pride back, I need to feel empowered and good about myself. And since I’ve already blurred the line between what’s personal and what should be shared on social media, here I go with the things I love the most about myself. Things that are my tashan.

  1. I used to get a first or second position in my school in dance competitions. Every year.
  2. I am someone who ANYONE can connect with- I can bring the saddest souls on Earth to dancing in a couple of minutes. I can get people to smile. One can never, ever get bored of me because there’s nothing I don’t do. You wanna talk about movies? Go ahead. Songs? I listen to everything from death metal to rap to pop to RnB to Coke Studio. You play games? My favourite is God of War. And The Last of Us. You like singing? Let’s du-et (pun intended). You like to write? Show me your blog and I’ll show you my book.
  3. Despite a back in my 5th semester, I landed an amazing job. At the age of 23, I have 2 years of work experience, decent academic background, studying for my masters side by side and have authored a book.
  4. I represented my school in tennis matches. We came 3rd out of 15 school, thanks to boys. I won all my matches.
  5. I rap.
  6. I have the most amazing set of friends and family. They’ve stuck by me in what can only be called my worst of times.
  7. My father gifted me a car as soon as my 12th-grade exams got over. And I’ve raced with strangers on the DND in an Alto and still won the races. And got a few guys’ numbers.
  8. When I was 11th grade, a guy from a different school was bullying my nerdy boyfriend, so I went up to him and I held his collar in front of my school’s kids and his, and said, “The next time you poke your nose in Aarav’s (name changed) business, I’m going to bury you deep in the very ground you’re standing on right now.” He never troubled Aarav again.
  9. I once beat the shit out of a guy who was calling me names in school.
  10. My wardrobe can make any girl jealous; I’ve got a huge-ass wardrobe. My room can make any nerd jealous. I have a dedicated library with over 200 books. My room can make any photo lover person jealous. An  entire wall is covered with photos and posters. My room can make a music lover jealous. It’s got a guitar and a dedicated spot for the world’s best headphones. Both of them.

 

These things, some of them materialistic, are some things that I’m super proud of, and wouldn’t give any of these, or any of my memory, up for anything.

Leave a comment