Why GoT doesn’t evoke any emotion anymore

Well, to be completely honest, I have to say that while working on fan service in its last season, ironically, GoT has ended up making a lot of them mad. Rewind to initial seasons- while the show has never catered to its viewership’s character preferences, it has always ended up making us feel something, something that’s amiss this season. Battle of Winterfell came really close, from whatever I could see, however, it lacked the brilliance of the episodes such as Hardhome or Battle of Bastards. What went wrong?

I have so many fitting Hindi proverbs for this situation- kabhi kisi ko itna matt darao, ki darr hi khatam ho jaaye, Seriously though, remember Ned Stark? Poor guy gave up his life to leave us with a lesson post season 1- anything is possible on Game of Thrones. And then happened Red Wedding. Purple Wedding. The immortals died. The wolves died. The lions died. The garden was poisoned.

After all this, I feel the viewers have become immune. I agree, the writing has gone down notches, but at the same time, maybe we’re really emotionless and ready for whatever the show has to offer now. It’s not just the writing, it’s us too. Classic Stockholm Syndrome- I’ve fallen in love with some thing which has kept me hostage for 9 years, enough to defend it in front of the world.

As I close my laptop after watching the penultimate episode of this epic fantasy show with so many characters being killed in melodramatic fights and fire, I can’t help but think of poetic justices. Jaime and Cersie meeting right where they parted; they came to this world together and left it together. The Hound and his brother fought one last battle, and this time, the former pushed the latter in the fire, sacrificing himself. Life does come in a full circle, doesn’t it?

But apart from a tad bit satisfaction of seeing the Mountain crush Qyburn and then dying a sweet, hot death himself, this episode, or this season doesn’t do much for me. I realise the importance of not doing anything in excess, so much so, that after a point, nothing really evokes anything anymore.

Game of Thrones surprised us so much, that nothing is surprising anymore.

Leave a comment